Hákarl and Hot Dogs part 1

The official “must-try delicacy” and national dish of Iceland is hákarl, a.k.a. fermented shark. Some have more colorful terms for it. Apparently the locals don’t eat it that much, and it’s rather one of those touristy top ten or bottom ten foods. That’s not to say they haven’t all tried it before.

Not my picture

Not my picture

Having done a bit of research on this prior to coming here, I was curious as to the true nature of the beast. Before I give you my opinion, let me set the stage for you. The following is from my talking to Icelanders and reading a local pamphlet. Hákarl is from a Greenland shark. It is beheaded, gutted and put in a hole in the ground (no coffin) and left there for around 3 months. The reason being this shark’s flesh is toxic to humans because it contains large amounts of uric acid. The dirt and rocks that cover the body more or less squeeze the acid out of the flesh. Next the shark is cut up and hung on hooks in a barn for another 4 months, left to decay. Finally, it is sliced and diced and ready to eat. Are you hungry yet?

Final product Also not my picture

Final product
Also not my picture

Now the taste test.

It was actually alright. Possibly the only reason I’m not saying it was good is because I might be set on fire. It smelled a little like ammonia, expected, and tasted a little like moldy cheese, also expected. If you read reviews elsewhere it is very common to find that 95% of people say its the worst thing they have ever tasted and/or smelled. Come on, guys, you knew it wasn’t going to be t-bone steak. Considering what these small cubes have been through in the past 6-8 months, I thought it was good. It is said to make most people gag and holding it down means you are strong.

Now to finish off the aftertaste of hákarl most restaurants will provide you with Brennivín. This I definitely wanted to try, since I wouldn’t be in the country for Beer Day. Brennivín, also known as black death, is an unsweetened, 80 proof liquor distilled in Iceland. It is flavored with caraway seeds and cumin. According to Wikipedia the name translates to “burning wine”. It is served ice cold as a shot. Very sharp with almost a hint of black licorice, it completely sedated the shark. I didn’t feel much burn afterwards. I’d like to have it again on another trip.

“People are very open-minded about new things – as long as they’re exactly like the old ones.”

~ Charles Kettering

Leave a comment